Break Me Open


A fine blend of acoustic originals from folk, to bluesy, from celtic, to americana, from one of America's hardest working troubadors.

Johnsmith's fifth CD "Break Me Open,” recorded in Nashville, TN, includes a cast of acoustic music’s finest players including Darrell Scott, Tim O'Brien, Stuart Duncan, Byron House, Andrea Zonn, and even a special appearance by Native American Grammy winner Bill Miller.

The songs on Break Me Open find John stretching his songwriting wings. Expressing the harder edges of life and love, these songs span a broad spectrum of genres from folk to blues, from gospel to Celtic. This collection ranges from the spiritual, poetic “Back to the Mystery” to the catchy, earthy “Silver Creek” to the touching tribute “Cold Cold Ground” and the soulful, bluesy title track, “Break Me Open”.

Here's what folks have to say about John and his music:

“Johnsmith is a songwriting machine. ‘Break Me Open’ is yet another well-crafted record. We love it.” ~Minnesota Public Radio, Morning Show

"John's plays and sings so well you almost don't notice how good his songs are. It's all there, and he's this nice regular guy you want to hang out with. Watch out, his music will sneak up on you." ~Tim O’Brien

.... growing, glowing reputation.... beautiful, high tenor voice, excellent guitar playing, and spirited, uplifting songs. His music is open-hearted, unpretentious, grounded in the personal, yet always accessible and universal. ~Sing Out! magazine

“. . . one of the most consistent writers of quality songs that I know.” ~Lydia Hutchinson, Editor Performing Songwriter Magazine

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12